Contact Street Smarts
Click It or Ticket campaign ramps up this week
Memorial Day weekend is days away and AAA of Northern California estimates that 3.5 million people will drive to their destination of 50 miles or more. If you plan to be among them, know that the CHP and more than 140 local law enforcement agencies statewide will be mounting the state's Click It or Ticket seat belt campaign this week. “Although Californians are generally good about buckling up (with a 96.2 percent compliance rate), there are still more than a million drivers and passengers at a high risk for serious injury or death because they don’t take the two seconds to fasten their seat belts,” said Chris Cochran, spokesman for the California Office of Traffic Safety. Between May 23 and June 5, drivers and passengers will be cited for not wearing seat belts. Enforcement of seat belt laws will take place day and night, as people traveling at night are least likely to buckle up and most likely to die in crashes while not buckled up. Getting a ticket for not wearing a seat belt runs a minimum of $142 for both the driver and passenger for the first offense. If children under age 16 are not properly restrained, the citation will run at least $445 per child. A second offense means the fine goes up to $1005 or more. The Click It or Ticket campaign is paid for with grants from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration through the Office of Traffic Safety. Learn about seat belt myths here from the OTS.