Contact Street Smarts
Helmet use is a must for young people under age 18
Dear Street Smarts, Q: Interestingly, we had a hard time getting our 15-year-old to wear a helmet. He has been doing a lot of cycling, especially at night after being with friends. Unfortunately, a good friend was hit and injured by a car recently. She possibly broke both arms, fractured her jaw and suffered a concussion. She was thrown about 10-feet. The very next day, my son walked out of the house on his way to bike to school, and low and behold, he was wearing a helmet. He's been wearing one ever since. When I asked him if his friend had been wearing a helmet, he replied ‘No, and yet she always wears one.’ Kathy Ferraro, Santa Cruz A: That’s great that he’s now wearing his helmet. Not only did it pose a danger to him when he wasn’t wearing one, it also could have hit him, or you, in the pocketbook if a law enforcement officer caught sight of him. Helmet use is required among young people under age 18. The base fine for this traffic violation is $25. That tops out at around $108 after additional assessments and penalties are added.
This entry was posted in bicycle, bicycle education, Bicycling, bike safety, California Vehicle Code, Helmets, law enforcement, police, Santa Cruz, traffic citation, Traffic collisions, traffic laws, traffic violation and tagged bicycle, bicycle education, bicycle safety, California Vehicle Code, Helmets, traffic collision, traffic laws. Bookmark the permalink.